Nominations for the Global Australian Awards are now open all year round. If you know any global Australian who is doing awesome things around the world, or you are one of them, you can nominate here.

The nominations period for the 2024 Global Australian Awards is now closed – thank you for your nominations! This year’s GameChangers will be announced from 1 August 2024, with the category winners and the Global Australian of the Year to be announced on 11 September 2024.


The Global Australian Awards recognises global Australians – including Australians living and working overseas, international alumni of Australian universities, and recent migrants to Australia. The Global Australian Awards showcase the achievements of these inspiring global Australians who are innovating in their field and shaping the world.

Selected by a judging panel of eminent Australians, the Global Australian Awards winners and finalists are collectively known as the Advance GameChangers. Since 2012, Advance has promoted over 160 outstanding individuals who are shaping our world. Meet the 2023 GameChangers and the GameChangers from 2012 to 2022.


The 2024 GameChangers will be announced from 1 August 2024, with the category winners and the Global Australian of the Year to be announced on 11 September 2024.


GameChangers are recognised in the following broad industry/sector categories:

  • Alumni
  • Corporate Leadership
  • Creative Excellence
  • Emerging Leadership
  • Global Talent
  • Indo-Pacific Impact
  • Science, Research & Health
  • Social Impact
  • Tech & Entrepreneurship

In addition to the above categories, the Judging Panel will recognise individuals who have made a significant global impact throughout their careers. Similar to a lifetime achievement award, nominees for this category may be household names in Australia or, as determined by the judges, deserving of increased recognition among Australians.


You may nominate yourself and/or others. Eligible nominees must:

  • Be an Australian citizen or Australian permanent resident; OR alumni of an Australian university who are non-Australian citizens or residents
  • Be living overseas currently, or be living overseas up until the year of nomination (except for the Global Talent category)
  • Be working and/or active within your industry (i.e. not in initial studies or fully retired)
  • Not be a current Advance Ambassador, or a current member of Advance staff / Advance Board of Directors / Advance Asia Advisory Committee.

Criteria for some categories in more detail

For the Alumni category, nominees must:

  • Be alumni of an Australian university program and a non-Australian citizen or resident
  • Live outside of Australia at least half of the year

For the Global Talent category, nominees must:

  • Have been born outside Australia
  • Be a permanent resident or citizen of Australia
  • Moved to Australia no earlier than ten years prior to the nomination, and be living and working in Australia at the time of nomination
  • Since 1 January 2020 have made a significant contribution to Australia in their field of expertise by:
    • developing a breakthrough innovation or scientific discovery in Australia that will tangibly benefit Australians at large, or make a globally significant contribution in the applicant’s field of endeavour, and/or
    • establishing a business registered in Australia, that either has created quality jobs in Australia and/or is tax positive for Australia

Global Australian Awards – General rules

  • A nominee may be considered for more than one category
  • Unsuccessful nominees may re-nominate in subsequent years
  • Award winners cannot receive a second award in the same award category. They can be considered for recognition in a separate category in following years
  • Groups of people or couples will normally not be eligible, though in exceptional cases the selection panel reserves the right to consider such nominations
  • The selection panel reserves the right to determine the relevance of nominations and to move nominees across categories
  • All category winners will be considered for the Global Australian of the Year Award
  • No weight is given to multiple submissions for the same nominee
  • Awards will not be granted posthumously

If you have any questions or need more info, please review our frequently asked questions or contact us.