Skip to main content

King’s Birthday honours for Macquarie community

by Advance Global Australians
Jun 17, 2024 3:47:01 PM


Current and former Macquarie University staff, as well as University alumni, have been acknowledged on the annual honour roll for significant contributions to their respective fields.

“My warmest congratulations to those whose achievements and service have earned them a place among the King’s Birthday honourees this year,” says Professor Dowton.

“These lists serve as a reminder of the crucial role our universities play, supporting education, research and innovation that has a real-world impact.”

Among those recognised, Professor Helen Reddel from Macquarie Medical School in the Faculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences, was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her significant service to respiratory medicine and medical research.

Honour roll: Professor Helen Reddel from Macquarie Medical School has been appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia.

A research leader at the Woolcock Institute of Medical Research, located at Macquarie University, and Director of the Australian Centre for Airways disease Monitoring, Professor Reddel has dedicated her career to improving the treatment of respiratory illnesses, particularly asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).

As Chair of Global Initiative for Asthma (GINA) Science Committee, a role she has held since 2012, Professor Reddel has led major evidence-based, patient-centred improvements to clinical recommendations for asthma management.

Last month, Professor Reddel received a prestigious Investigator Grant from the Australian Government’s National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) to support a program of work that aims to reduce the global burden of death and disability due to asthma and other respiratory diseases.

Also appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2024:

  • Professor Talal Yassine OAM, for significant service to business, and to the community. Professor Yassine is an Adjunct Fellow at Macquarie Law School.
  • Amanda Gordon, for significant service to psychology, and to the multicultural community. Ms Gordon is an Adjunct Supervisor, Macquarie University Print.
  • Conjoint Professor Tracey O'Brien, for significant service to cancer medicine, to medical research and education, and to professional bodies. Professor O’Brien is an Honorary Professor in the School of Computing, Faculty of Science and Engineering.
  • Concetta Perna, for significant service to the Australian Italian community. Ms Perna was a Lecturer, Italian Language and Literature, at Macquarie University between 1995 and 2015.
  • The Honourable Jillian Skinner, for significant service to the people and Parliament of New South Wales, and to community health. The former NSW Health Minister was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science by Macquarie University in 2018.