Born Global: ASEAN

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established in 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand. ASEAN consists of 10 member countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. In our #BornGlobal series, we have interviewed Aussies based out of ASEAN to share their inspirational stories.

Meet our members in ASEAN

Know before you go

Check out Smartraveller advice for Thailand, Malaysia, Cambodia and Vietnam – subscribe to updates and register your travel plans here

Things to do

Kuala Lumpur: Join the long queue to taste banana leaf rice at Kuala Lumpur’s first banana leaf rice shop, Sri Nirwaja Maju .

Bangkok: Get on a boat to experience the authentic floating markets.

Hanoi: Dine at Bún chả Hương Liên – a traditional Hanoi noodle joint where former US President Barack Obama and Anthony Bourdain visited in 2016

Phnom Penh: Indulge in the amazing beauty of sunset in Phnom Penh by joining a rivercruise excursion

Did you know?

  • Thailand had the most number of tourist arrivals. Nearly 30 million tourists visited Thailand in 2015, making it the most popular among ASEAN countries.

  • Vietnam has the fastest growing population.

  • French-educated Cambodian architect Van Molyvann led a profound period of architectural change between Cambodia’s independence in 1953 and 1975, during which he combined elements of the modernism of the 1950s and 1960s with traditional Khmer elements to create Khmer architecture. 

  • Malaysia receives the largest share of inbound international students, followed by Singapore.